Identifying Values


WEEK 5  of WRAP  and we had a look at what our values are. Values as you may or may not know are things that hold an importance to us. It is a set of principles that help determine the decisions you make in life.  When you identify your values – it can help you find out more about who you are as a person and what makes you do the things you do. In today’s session we were asked to be more clear about identifying our values and what sort of things we believe in. The point being: when you are clear about what is important to you (values and beliefs) then you will have an easier time making decisions because your decisions will be based around what is important to you .  I read somewhere that our thoughts are like mantras or mini prayers and whatever we tell ourselves can become our beliefs and that the  thoughts we tell ourselves can manifest in our lives- good and bad. 

CLICK HERE FOR A DEFINITION/ MEANING OF A MANTRA

So, as an example. When my daughter was in care and the local authorities were wanting to have her adopted. My Nan and my Mom inspired me to tell tell myself a mantra as many times in the day as possible. It didn’t matter if I believed it or not but I had to do it. My mantra was : I AM A GOOD MOM, A WONDERFUL MOM AND I’M GOING TO GET MY DAUGHTER BACK.

I told myself this as many times as I could remember until I got my daughter back . I looked in the mirror and said it out loud to my reflection. I said it when I cried with hopelessness. I 100% believe that creating this sense of HOPE and self-affirming this mantra to my mind, helped me to focus on what was important and also it helped me mentally. I won’t go into the science or spirituality part of creating positive thoughts and beliefs but I can say it helped me when I had lost everything. I still use mantras today and I do feel the benefits.  If you do want to understand more about mantras  check out MANTRAS IN- DEPTH

Okay, I hope you can see the importance of identifying  your values, by putting it down in some kind of written or tangible form. 

Here are my top 10 values

MY TOP 10 VALUES

MY TOP 10 VALUES

Here is the link to an abundance   list of values-from -A-Z –PICK UP TO TEN VALUES  from   the list. It doesn’t  have to be in order of importance. The most important thing you get from doing this exercise is you get it down and are specific about what is valuable to you.  

2 thoughts on “Identifying Values

  1. Pingback: WRAP -WELLNESS RECOVERY ACTION PLAN WEEK 2-12 TOPIC AND PAGE LINKS | Daisy in the Willows

Leave a comment

