HAPPINESS TIP:Lose yourself to find yourself


MORNING! The exclamation mark is deceiving.

It’s 5 a.m. and I am awake! I wake up every day at this time.

I’m still in grump -mode.  Ah, that first sip of coffee tastes soo good!

There are a few posts I read where it seems that the bloggers question who they really are. This  topic comes up a lot with people with mental health issues- wanting to recover but finding it hard. There is this fear of not being able to completely let go of the restraints of their mental health issues. Not knowing what to do with their time in recovery or how to live. They are lost. This loss  can also be about anyone with no mental health issues,who feels solo and all alone in this immense universe of ours . If you read my blog you will know how hard it is for me to find a place in this world and mark it as your own.

SECRET TO HAPPINESS: Learn to be independent in order to feel empowered

TRADITION: Walk about

DATE: Any time

CELEBRATED IN :Australia

It’s not exactly big news we rely a lot on technology. I mean this is the blogging world I am talking to. We have ready made meals, lifts that take you from one level to the next. With a few clicks you can hire someone to clean your house, a pet sitter. it is awesome that we have all these conveniences in our lives. It does make life a lot more durable. How did   people did manage before without all these inventions and services. These examples  are just the dinosaurs of technology

FEAR. 

الرهبة-والخوف

Would you associate that feeling with convenience and technology? 

I ask this because:

What if we didn’t have all this? Take a good look around you wherever you  are.  Check out your mobile phones- ready for a Skype conference, planes that fly themselves, dishwashers, coffee machines, computers to save files. I don’t know about you but I would feel kind of defunct if this was all too vanish.

Think about what you use now, in your everyday life? 

Could you cope? 

I watched an incredible and emotional film once upon at time  called ‘Rabbit proof fence’ – here is the ROTTEN TOMATOES REVIEW.

So, this post is inspired by that movie.

Switch you empathy button on: Imagine being a boy. An aborigine boy . You live a carefree life -laughing and playing with your mates. Your birthday is coming up. ‘Wow!’ you think, The big 1.3. Finally you think, I am a teenager.

On your birthday, instead of waking up to a massive cake and loads of presents, instead you are told to leave your community and learn to survive.I don’t mean camping out with BEAR GRYLLS . This is some heavy shit.  This ‘baptism’ or rites of passage is deeply rooted to the earth. The ground they walk on.  There is no bartering,no comprising, nada, ziltch! 

hqdefault

WITH A CAMERA CREW AND OTHER ‘ESSENTIALS’

Initiates learn ancient  song lines that they call dreaming tracks. With technology being so advanced they even have their own website 

NOT THE POINT I AM TRYING TO MAKE -feel free to read more about it here. The point is these dreaming tracks go way back to their ancestors who had to learn to track food. I don’t know if you learnt ‘ the Maslow hierarchy pyramid’ in school. This is one way of looking at what  model a person should follow to fulfil a meaningful life.

maslows-hierarchy-of-needs

So this tradition is going back to basics. Re-learning how to survive on instinct. It is a quest almost like those in Greek myths. There are ‘monsters’ that can be found in the wild. Can you imagine spending 6 months- alone?

In the wild?

Having to use your brain to survive?

This period is for ,the Aborigines,  is  a time of solitude and  it is their belief that this is the only thing that can develop and instil a deeper self awareness. I suspect you know the message of why they have to leave their community:

Yup, so the  boy can come back as a man. Girls can do this too these day to any feminists in the house.

How can we use this knowledge to create inner happiness ? 

Every one can take a bit of time out for themselves, time for YOU. Book a solo holiday- (money funds allowing) because this is a great way to defend yourself and discover what really interests you. You don’t have to go anywhere to get something from this post. Okay, I hate, No. I am afraid of public speaking. So, next week I am doing a work shop on  ‘con -production groups awareness’. This act will prepare me and give me the tools to get to a point where I can stand up and speak to of bunch of people. 

Quote-Vulnerability-opens-the1

THE MESSAGE: Learn to take control over the reigns in the areas you feel unprotected. Vulnerable.  Learn to knit,  speak publicly, boil an egg but do it. Become confident in your own abilities, This will lead to you to to knowing that if for whatever reason you find yourself alone -you will get through it because you will know that you can rely on yourself.

17 thoughts on “HAPPINESS TIP:Lose yourself to find yourself

  1. I’ve always said there is one person that you can always count on…and that’s yourself. I’ve always been the type of person to do things for myself. If I don’t know something I learn how. That doesn’t say I won’t accept help either, but I’ve always wanted to know I can do it “myself”. This is a wonderful post. Glad I read it. Well done! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Koko. that saying is so true. If we rely on someone else we usually get disappointed. Yes we learn by doing. Thank you for taking the time to read my post. Have a wonderful day 🙂

      Like

  2. It is important to take a walk about in the morning or evening or for a whole week out in the woods. It does put you in a frame of mind to overcome your fears and also in a frame of mind to meet those challenges, whichever one is coming next.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Very interesting perspective. I think most can overcome any challenge including mental health issues (depending on the severity) if they want it bad enough. Being one who suffered from severe depression for over 20 years, I am here to say that I’ve done it. It was a process and the key was training my brain to think and believe the very opposite of what it thought on its own. A daily process sometimes tiring but so worth the effort. Loving the confident lady I am today. Thanks for sharing😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was worried I would get some back lash about mental health not being something that can be altered. If that makes any sense at all. There is a long process to changing the way a person’s mind works. This is complex and requires different things for different needs. It requires a whole holistic approach . Thank you for commenting. It is always good to hear a success story 🙂 x

      Liked by 2 people

      • It was my pleasure! Thanks for being brave and sparking the conversation. There is not enough talk about mental health issues and holistic treatment so this was my kind of forum. Everyone does not require a prescription that typically doesn’t work anyway! Just a diversion to make doctors and pharmaceutical companies rich! We have to be advocates for our own health. Keep writing about this. It’s necessary😀

        Like

      • HI Chanel. One point is we an get better but that doesn’t mean we don’t have a mental illness anymore- if we don’t continue to care for our body and mind e will slip back into poor mental health. It doesn’t matter who you are.

        Like

    • YES! It is not easy. I think when we are ill we lose sight of goals. One trick to to start really small. Maybe jjust get out of bed for an hour and then make the goals a bit more challenging as time progresses. Easier said than done but it can be done. We can improve- we will not always feel one feeling . Our feelings change all the time and as you yourself know Depression is so much more than being low in mood.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

