Ashes and Fedex


 *If you are religious you may take offence to this post.* Just saying 😀

Ashes as you probably know signal the end of a persons life . Nobody really knows when/ what ashes were and are exactly meant to represent. The most common symbolism is mortality.

Come , now people… let’s just accept we are all gonna die.

  In a world that often expects us to be perfect, Ash Wednesday gives us an opportunity to freely confess our imperfections. We can let down our pretenses and be truly honest with each other about who we are. We all bear the mark of sin, from the youngest babies to the oldest seniors. We all stand guilty before a holy God. We all are mortal and will someday experience bodily death. Thus we all need a Savior.

http://www.patheos.com/blogs/markdroberts/series/ash-wednesday-practice-and-meaning/

 

 My aunt died of Lung cancer on 21/02/ 2015. She wanted to be cremated. We honoured her wish. She was a free spirited hippy Catholic and she would rather give up her mortality -riddled with illness and attached to this mortal life by an invisible leash – so with courage and dignity she accepted her fate.  Morphine may or may not  have helped her speed up the process.

jesus-hippy.jpg
IT IS TRUE I FOUND IT ON GOOGLE.

This is a bit of a random story . My twin uncles were supposed to fly out from Miami to the the U.K. for her funeral. They do a lot of travelling and were on an up grade standby.

They didn’t make the funeral – no upgrade.  There were no more than 10 people at her funeral. That’s kind of sad, isn’t it?

My aunt wanted her ashes to be spread in the Miami ocean – as close to Key West as possible. One night after having consumed many drinks she said to me  all she wanted was to leave the world behind and move to key west and own a bunch of chickens and just be.

WhichWayWoodSigns.jpg

Her saying was

‘Eventually’  (as in it will happen, whatever it is you  out seek out and work for eventually it will be )

I’m kind of thinking she got her wish -some of her ashes must have  lapped up on to the key west  isle shores by now. I don’t know about the chickens ..

When I think about ashes as a symbol of mortality or sin , I am not superstitious. My uncles wanted to get my aunts ashes Fed- exed to Miami.

Yes, that is correct.

FEDEXED!

 They didn’t want to travel with them in case my aunt came back to haunt them or they spilled the ashes or for  whatever “rational”  reason. Strange men -my uncles-

twins!

 so, double strange. ( I will confirm I love my uncles)

Are they so scared to  face up to their own mortality?

Why should they be afraid when they are so religious and God loving men?

In the end ,they paid for a three week trip, for my Ma to go see them in Miami,as  long as she travelled with my Aunts ashes.

I have an eccentric family.

 Knowing my aunt like I did, she would have been giving my uncles a few clucks(slaps)  around the face telling them to ‘man up’ or ‘put on their big boy boots’ – so maybe she got her chickens in the end.

A double cluck!

I remember going to a catholic school that had a church – my Ma and Pa got married in that church. My  family thought it would be a great idea to send me to that school .

No problem, except I have never been baptised.

 

So, every ‘ash Wednesday’ we all had to come up and be marked with the ash cross of a sinner. My corruption and evilness was made crystal clear at those times.

Maybe I did need to repent.

I was more bothered about finding out how many  Easter eggs I was going to get. No one really explained what all this lent fuss was about to me.

benedict2

 All I cared about was going on an egg hunt.  My Ma used to  do a pretty impressive empty basket dress up and let me go hunting in the garden.

Ash Wednesday is a day to stare death in the face, to acknowledge our mortality. All of us will die. Christians who observe this holiday get ashes “imposed” on their foreheads, while a minister or lay church worker says, “You have come from dust, and to dust you will return.” In other words, “You are going to die. And here are some ashes to remind you, just in case you’ve forgotten.”

http://www.patheos.com/blogs/markdroberts/series/ash-wednesday-practice-and-meaning/

 Ha ha! . Okay, this is awesome – Why not come together to confess we are all a bunch of sinners. My main problem with this is: why the hell Catholics( and other faiths)  get away with  being such hypocrites?

 Catholics do have a bit of a reputation of being one of the  worst abusers  of our kind towards people with ‘the most sin’ – that is people with mental health issues.

My quest for the symbolism has left me with feelings that are a  tad  flaky.

THIS IS A SHOCKINGLY AWFUL POST. APOLOGIES.

Let me try and redeem myself.

flowers-hiding-bad-date-worried-shy-silly-woman-alone-thinking.jpg

The last thing I want to say about  my research on th  symbolism of ash is:

I symbolise it with  war , hate and crime and greed

Many religions have some form of their own  ‘Ash Wednesday’, to  hold innocent people  accountable for their  churches sins. Not sins of the present day people but the sins of those who were  in the past responsible  for the  (and whose bloodlines are  still  in power of the Church)-

the blood slaying,

the abuse,

the greed,

sloth,

power hungry psychopaths.

I might not know  exactly where I’m going after I leave my mortal body but at least I don’t use some flimsy

‘Ashes to ashes dust to dust’ quote,

to bring people together to acknowledge their so- called sins.

23494.jpg
POSSIBLE POST MORTAL DESTINATION ?

 

If their is going to be any kind of day where people come together to acknowledge their sins. It should start with the highest church orders and governments of this world  to repent and who use religion to control and warp our society.

Lead by example?

just going to throw that out there.

I don’t need a day  OR a 40 day lent period  to know when I have been bad or good.

So, let me be bad and kick the pedestals from those who preach words to the ‘sinners’

Can you tell I’m not buying into this whole ash -religion thing.

ChibiEmmy-image-chibiemmy-36720443-595-369.jpg

I think I would rather curl up to a good book of vampires, witches and wear wolves than carry on.

 My main message:

Ashes to ashes dust to dust

seriously now what is the fuss?

 –  that’s about as poetic as I get.

(ALL IMAGES SOURCED FROM GOOGLE IMAGES)

6 thoughts on “Ashes and Fedex

  1. I relate a lot to this post. You are quite sensible and right, while summing up the mysteries. You see, each religion has this concept of ‘Memento Mori’. Even in Hinduism we have a 15 days period called ‘Pitripaksh’, in which we remember our ancestors and remember that even we aren’t immortal and we will be similarly remembered by our kins in the coming days, if we are lucky enough.

    That FedEx episode was kinda funny, considering the morbid scenario! Your uncles may be eccentric, but they were practical. You have to give it to them! Anyway, let’s not thrash the religion and the religious. Religion is something, which you either believe in, or you are damned.

    Don’t worry, Daisy! You won’t be alone in hell. I’ll meet you there. Even I don’t believe blindly in everything I’m told. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rakesh, you have made me smile. I didn’t think many would get the humour of my aunts FEdex journey to Miami. I’m not against people who are religious. We all need an anchor. Traditions are an important part of culture and identification. I just get mad at all the hypocrisy I see in Religion. See you in Hell 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hahahah! Totally agree about the hypocrisy. We have a huge collection in my country. We Indians are a bit hot about religion, you see? We are killing each other all the time in its name. Then, we don the religious garb and decry violence. 😀

        Hell should indeed be a nicer place, if people are so broadminded, tolerant and not fanatics like us! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Believe it or not, I really like this post. I bet they never tell you that Easter is a pagan Babylonian fertility rite (eggs, bunnies) or that Lent is a pagan rite, or that the whole practice of warning one about their mortality is trauma based mind control. Oh they would never do that. That would give away their whole phoney reason for being, to drag as many people down with them into a pit of misery and despair. Oh, did I say to much? I’d better stop here.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Funnily enough – I did wonder if you would read this post. Also what you would think. Oh do go on ,:D – You are right – about the churches ‘trauma based mind control’ content. How do you know so much ?

      Like

Leave a comment

