E= Elephants- Human’s biggest Dumbo act


E

Ever been blessed by an elephant ?  They use their trunks and place it on your head.  They love to reach out to children. 

Don’t do it. Hindus have been asked to stop this practice as elephants have been known to catch tuberculous from the pilgroms who come from all over the world to be ‘blessed’. many have died already  -read more here

maxresdefault

Elephants are  a close knit, gypsy  kind of family- they enjoy travelling around the wild. Today I am going to talk a bit about what an animal goes through when they are kept in captivity. 

When I was about 10 years old, living in South Africa, every year a famous circus would pitch it’s tents by our school and entice us to go watch their shows. Always using animals as their main highlight for the show. I am far too curious and I got bored watching the show and I slipped off my bench and decided to go behind the scenes and do a bit of exploring. I found a newly born litter of kittens, neglected, no mother in sight, clearly stressed out. One of the circus staff found me and chased me away. I never went back to a circus. I just knew in my naive child spirit that this was not natural.

So today I’m  creating awareness around how our earthling friends get treated around the world,focusing on Circus myths. 

MYTH #1

Circus animals have a strong positive bond with their owners and that is why they perform tricks with them.

Elephants  are wild animals they are not programmed to do the bidding of humans. There is this myth that owners use positive reinforcements techniques to do tricks. This may be true in some cases but the truth is time is money. The travelling circus needs to make money to survive. They are more likely to beat animals. They starve animals, beat them with sharp hooked objects. The whole point of this is to make the elephant know who is the boss. Animals can never truly be owned or tamed. So their behaviour is unpredictable in terms of keeping people safe.

Elephant_Memes.jpg

THIS MESSAGE IS FOR ALL YOU TRAINERS OUT THERE.

MYTH #2

Circus animals are loved and nurtured from birth like a child

Bullshit alert. Circus animals are usually rented out on lease for a season contracts. They are passed from one circus to another. When an animal becomes to old and sick they are given to zoos or research laboratories. This is especially true for animals who are not good and do not behave like their owners want to them to. 

MWUXSZO.png

EVEN ELEPHANTS NEED THEIR SPACE……..JUST A THOUGHT

MYTH#3

After a successful show, animals get to take their shoes off and chill out. 

If your idea of kicking back and chilling is being put in a cage so small that you can hardly move then fair do’s. But seriously ….  Are you nuts?  What usually happens is animals do not get fed, they are shipped in cages to their next job in inhumane conditions. There is usually no air conditioning or heating on their flight as passengers . Most of their life is a loop of perform and cage. Perform and cage. Perform and cage. Aaaah, what a great life show biz animals have hey? 

just-an-elephant-chilling-is-all_o_538278.jpg

I KIND OF DOUBT THAT THIS HAPPENS AFTER A SHOW OR EVER IN THE ELEPHANT CELEB WORLD….

MYTH #4

The circus is a great safe place to bring the family together to enjoy and have a good time

Animals and people get injured  – one example is Tyke. His  story is this: Tyke had been neglected and treated like shit for years and years.She thought that living in a cage sucked -balls. She had had enough. This is how Tyke spend her last day in this planet. She had to get away from the madness that was her life. She killed her trainer and thirteen other people. She was shot nearly 100 times. Her story is a harsh reminder of what happens when an animal is kept in captivity and used and abused for the pleasure of humans. Her story must not be forgotten. She died in 1994.

 

 

MYTH #5

This is  only way to educate ourselves about animals .

Really? So how natural is is for an elephant to throw balls into a hoop or whatever other fancy trick they are pushed to learn? Or dressing an elephant up in a tutu –

Aaaaaaaaaaw how cute!.

How many animals  in the wild  do we know about who do performance ticks and  fashions hows for their fellows earthlings? This is not education. It is Entertainment at the expense of animals.

Nelson-Mandela-6-287x300.png

MYTH #6

There are laws to protect circus animals. 

Yes, there is a federal animal  welfare act in the U.S.A. and the U.K. ( it includes guidelines on care,safety,treatment and transport) but  violators  of this act are rarely prosecuted and so the abuse continues. 

40fb359cbb3cd0e9e9022ab2082d5bc98488bd2105e767f486c0cd9003dd7e36.jpg

Go figure

 

 DAISY, WHAT CAN I DO? 

Love this question 😀 — I did kind of put in in the post myself- far from being biased at all 😉

I’m going to be blunt. Don’t go to animal focused circuses -demand human circuses that have humans doing death defying stunts that make you wonder if they will live and human performers who do acts that leave you and your children in awe of how amazing us humans are. 

Don’t know how to do this ?

Write a letter to your whatever place you live in who has the power to enforce legislations. Or

Write a letter to protest these animal focused circuses  from coming to  you town.

371328ef77494be09d501bddc5106fac

 

 

 

31 thoughts on “E= Elephants- Human’s biggest Dumbo act

  1. I have a special affinity with elephants – don’t really know why. I’ve just always felt a connection (because I used to be so big? hahahaha). (No. Actually, I have the hindsight to realise I was never overweight). (Anyway).

    I was lucky enough to go to Pinnawalla elephant orphanage in Sri Lanka, and saw all the elephants whose parents had been killed by poachers, or blown up by old unexploded mines etc. It was heartbreaking and heartwarming to see them playing in the river together.

    Have you read Leaving Time by Jodi Picoult? It’s about elephants (among other things). I’d totally recommend it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • My ma has the same connection with elephants and she passed down that spirit of theirs into my belief system of them. I can’t even imagine what it must have felt like to see something so heartbreaking up close. I know the author. I will keep a look out for this one. Her books are usually a bit of a tear jerker but if it has animals in it I will make time to read it .:)

      Like

  2. Very thought provoking post Daisy! In India most of the animals, including lions are banned. Although, elephants are still allowed. I really feel sad after watching those animals in circuses and zoos. Thank God for people like you, who still are able to spare a thought for those dumb animals! This post made me pensive and sad! I think, we should be termed as brutes instead of these animals! After all the a tiger never hunts for fun like us!

    Like

  3. I’ve never been to the circus… but… after reading your exposé I now take satisfaction in knowing that my money never wound up in the pockets of these animal abusers / torturers. You write with a passion and I like that… btw… I would not be too certain that human circus performers get treated any better. Oh… they might not be caged… but the need to earn money can and oft does act as a bar-free prison… and trap many of us in dead-end, go nowhere, demeaning jobs… and when we wreck our bodies… we get spat out like chewing gum after it loses it’s sweet flavor.

    Liked by 1 person

    • well you have done yourself and a lot of animals a huge favour. People who join the circus are usually hard up money wise and hard living can make people bitter and cruel. It is sad but just becasue a persons living conditions are bad -it is no excuse to abuse an animal or person 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. What a thoughtful post! It’s hard to digest the fact that humans act like morons when it comes to animals. I had similar impression on not treating the animals right at the circus, when I visited a circus during my childhood. That was my first and last visit to a circus, as I did not find it entertaining. Thanks for reminding about ways to eradicate this practice, which are often not thought about!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey no problem! I am thankful to this challenge –everyday my knowledge of how humans treat animals is increasing. I think as children we instinctively know when something is wrong. We just grow up thinking it is normal and by then it is too late to do anything. Thanks again for the interest in my post 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I wish WP had a “Shocked” button along the “Like” button. Not that I’m shocked. Nothing like human brutality on this planet. I hate circus for the same reason and if I have children I’ll never take them to one (or will to show them how abnormal this is.). I hope people soon realize that circuses should be forbidden.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Your post is quite amazing with your insights from childhood and all … And many animals in Hindu religion are worship as the idol of God … Elephant worshiped as lord Ganesha is known to be intelligent animal of all … Son of lord Shiva … And lord ganesha is worshipped at first before proceeding for any prayer … !! 😊🙌

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a comment

