If gratitude was a colour…


“Some people grumble that roses have thorns; I am grateful that thorns have roses.”
Alphonse Karr, A Tour Round My Garden  

WHY I CHOSEN THIS QUOTE 

To me it seems kind of obvious what this dude means. 

It’s rather more  optimistic -a great improvement from #FollowGreatFootsteps quote yesterday.

Yesterday I couldn’t get out.

It was a miracle that I got some exercise done ( to shut up the eating disorder critters) and managed to clean the house,blog and read blogs and get a bath and spend a bit of time with my G and Bella Bee

It might not sound like much; for me:   when my mood shifts- getting out of bed is an achievement.

No joking around. 

The scales are still being twats.

Give me the number I want!

 It is like a screwed up version of playing the lottery. The exception is the more you lose the richer and happier you become.

When I think of roses.I think YELLOW -my favourite colour rose.

yellowroses8

It makes me smile. My Gran once bought me a butterfly shaped trinket. 

It says on it :

“Happiness is like a butterfly, it settles on those  when you least expect it”

Yesterday, my Bella bee and my G came home with a wild Daffodil they had found -yellow,  I associate the colour with happiness.

Maybe that is why I kept my bathroom painted in  a  fizzy ,repugnant yellow for 7 years -in my not so new home.  It was the first bathroom  I didn’t use laxatives and abuse my body. It is a place I associate with peace and no pain . I am talking about a toilet here.

Peace in a toilet?

Is there such  a thing?

 I could be talking through my ass but I can do these things. It’ my blog- (sticking out my tongue)

If I touch a rose I get pricked -possibly multiple times but it is worth pain to behold in your hands; something that has  the scent of a new born day-dewy and fresh.

No wind.

No rain. 

That has passed already.

I get to touch a petal.

Natures clothe of  velvet.

A newly blossomed rose is quite a  stunning sight.

Check me out trying to get all poetic. HA HA!

fa7f8bd048070ae2b1564242bc91fae91c9a1a9a16cf5555045cc902857a9e65

No seriously,

we have to go through some pricks -people or experiences, if we want chance to feel the beauty that is happiness .

Thorns makes us bleed.

It says:

DON’T TOUCH MY FUCKING ROSE!

Only joking.

To me :it says you are going to have to feel pain in life and it’s going to cut you up but it will be worth it.

If  a  rose can blossom living amongst the thorns then so can you. Our  lives and  our selves blossom in  spite of  all the pain we have to go through.

Those very thorns can protect us. Experience teaches us. 

The suffering is 100% worth it in the long run. So what game are you playing ?

The long sprint or the short cuts?

Just something to think about ….

If you have read the blurb bit already, no need to unless you want .:D

 

HERE IS THE BLURB BIT

I’m always looking for great quotes so if you have one that is unusual or unique -let me know in the most recent post comment sections.

I will make sure I post your quote/ folk tale/proverb/ in #FollowGreatFootsteps category and I will send a a direct link to your page:)

*OPTIONAL* -add a short or long comment about why you love a particular quote a simple word or to on what it means to you.

THE ONLY RULE IS : MY DECISION TO USE A QUOTE WILL BE BASED ON THE FIRST COMMENT I RECEIVE WHEN I OPEN UP MY  EMAILS AT 5 A.M.

Why do it?
Who doesn’t love a good quote?

Bringing inspiring quotes into our conscious minds gives us the chance to try and adopt that quality we love in an inspirational person

15 thoughts on “If gratitude was a colour…

  1. As for yellow, I associate it with glory, brightness, and splendour. But as for the rose, you are totally right, the pain often leads to beauty in a way that no amount of just coasting along ever can.

    Like

Leave a comment

