Protection for the compassionate


” You’re not like me, Scott. You are not like any other agent,I’ve ever known, your weight is your heart” the whisperer -‘I am pilgrim’ by Terry Hayes #FollowGreatFootsteps

WHY DID I CHOOSE THIS QUOTE?

I’m reading a book genre I never really read. I’m no book reviewer so here is a short synopsis

A breakneck race against time…and an implacable enemy.

An anonymous young woman murdered in a run-down hotel, all identifying characteristics dissolved by acid.

A father publicly beheaded in the blistering heat of a Saudi Arabian public square.

A notorious Syrian biotech expert found eyeless in a Damascus junkyard.

Smouldering human remains on a remote mountainside in Afghanistan.

A flawless plot to commit an appalling crime against humanity.

One path links them all, and only one man can make the journey.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18144124-i-am-pilgrim

So now that we have that out of zeeee way.

I am  at the point in the book, where  the supposed  retired (31 year old) Scott and his many aliases, from special intelligent forces ,( 1000 times bigger than the FBI or CIA)  has been ordered to hunt down  his match -Saracen. One Muslim  man on a mission for Allah , with the power  to eradicate the U.S.A., single handedly.

No terrorists or suicide bombers needed.

That is all I am saying about the book.

So I am at the point of the book  where  the whisperer tells Scott that the ‘weight of his heart’ could very well  be his undoing.

He is trying to tell Scott that  if he gets to the point in this mission where he is losing. Scott needs to take a bullet to his head –  he mustn’t feel the need to suffer.

So, I’ve been reading this book and turning over the quote in my mind. I went  to bed and this quote was still floating around  in my head.

Why?

because what this quote means is, that a persons whose weight is  in his/her heart, means they are compassionate.

Compassion in a world of hatred, greed and war is often looked at as a  weakness.

I relate to this quote not because I am some hard core mercenary, as “fun” a career path as it seems.

I wear my heart on my sleeve. I’ve been been hurt -countless times for being a heart.

  • Some people are aces

  • Some people are clubs

  • some people  are diamonds

I can de program my mind and harden myself.  I won’t do that. Compassion is a gift. It is an art.

I’m sure all you compassionate people will agree.

Unfortunately, in order to safe guard ourselves so that people won’t exploit our compassion, we need to show it in less obvious ways.

Who would try and back stab you ?

Any one who sees something in you that they haven’t realised or found in them selves.

  • Friends

  • family

  • colleagues

  • partners

You are even more of a threat if your inner qualities are  expressed  and reflected on what people see on the outside. It’s a competitive world out there.

I have learnt to not take bullshit from people.

I have struggled for years questioning why certain people are hostile or go out of their way to lap up any compliments I dish out but when it comes to bigging me up or supporting me – all I can hear are the tumble weeds.

I know that I am not alone in this feeling.

So how can we be compassionate and protect ourselves?

Be compassionate to yourself first. A lot of people will behave  around you according to what they need and what they feel.

Be aware.

Your greatest threat can be dressed as your greatest allies.

Save your compassion for those who will truly appreciate it. I’ve only just started learning about how I can use my compassion without feeling left abused, drained and not acknowledged.

7ae8fc9b0c38b09398ff40e6c3a0e85b

You will never be an equal with some one who see’s you as a threat and who won’t treat you as their equal.

Their actions will reveal their agenda.

Want to  be a part #FollowGreatFootsteps?  You can do it! I will review your blog:) -check out the link above. It”s easy peasy. 

 

8 thoughts on “Protection for the compassionate

  1. Nicely said! I am compassionate, but, like you, I find very few reciprocate… especially if they are thinking about their own special place in the scheme of things. I actually ignore these big-headed folk with their nose in the clouds. A little humility on their part goes a long way in helping us to express a little compassion on ours.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So much to take away from this post! I like what you said about discovering how to use your compassion, about deciding when & who to extend it to … I think you have a point there. I’ve discovered too often over the years that although I may be willing to be there for others, that support is by no means returned when I find myself most in need of it. There’s nothing wrong with wearing our hearts on our sleeves but I think learning to be a little harder at time could be of benefit. If that makes sense lol 😀

    Like

Leave a comment

