Doors of Creativity


“The most important thing is this: to sacrifice what you are now for what you can become tomorrow.” ― Shannon L. Alder

WHY I HAVE CHOSEN THIS QUOTE:

 Well, the obvious reason is my 4 day facilitating training came to an  end. What an accomplishment.

giphy (1).gif

 

THIS IS TRULY HOW I FEEL. CAPTURED IN A GIF

 

There were ups and downs, moments I thought can I do this and then yesterday it all became clear.

Do I want to do this ?

Is this the best role for me to work within a the team at this particular organisation?

 I’ve done workshops with healthy minds and I love the idea of  and feeling  that we are on our feet brainstorming, doing activities to get us thinking about whatever topic the workshop is about.

 Healthy minds Support groups –  are  peer led support user led. They  base their  ethos on pretty much  all  of their work using a human centred approached ( a  term some old psychologist dude  called C. Rogers came up with)

So the focus is more on

  • empathy (letting people talk and listening)

  • being yourself

  •  respecting others.

I love this.

People are usually pretty fucking great at solving their own problems with a bit of support.   I personally don’t believe carrying and doing all the work (living ) for a person is necessarily  the best solution to a persons problems, in the long run.

Yeah, so I’m going to give myself a pat on the back.

It was a tough course.

dc6cbc1c37804734e23e9890ad446946

 

I don’t get paid and I only just realised that yesterday. It doesn’t mean it is not rewarding in other ways.

I was so tired  by the time my pillow hit the bed, the thought of putting match sticks to prop open my eyelids to keep going crossed my mind.

It is like a full time job because I come home and there is more work to get done in my private life.

I am having a brilliant time.

I  do know one thing; from – the volunteering training and various courses I have been on with different organisations. Whatever  I want to do, needs to be creative.

Creativity inspires me and lights my passion.

download (1)

So I am on  the look out for projects that involve me  using  more  of my creativity.

I usually hate endings but I am okay about this ending because I know there is going to be a follow up and there is a what next plan.

 Generally, I think in life -we always  need a what next plan? 

 It is inspiring and motivating.

It encourages new beginnings and opportunities.

 

Want to  be a part #FollowGreatFootsteps?  You can do it! I will review your blog:) -check out the link above. It”s easy peasy.

DAISY WILLOWS

We are half way through the week. I did something I didn’t think I could do. So time to move on to the next goal.

There is nothing wrong with spreading yourself as a volunteer/career. I feel I have  different qualities and skills to give and develop   to   different types of groups and charity organisations.

The key is – balance.

balancing_act_by_humandescent

IF NATURE CAN GET IT RIGHT?

Tell me how you figure out that one please. 😀

Yeah so. I’ve learnt I am at my best when I am creative. I always doubted I was creative but by,

pushing myself and challenging myself and getting out there in the world has shown me I am what I always wanted to be.

I needed to convince myself and believe in myself.

4d1d9edc45300854d370aeafa3229448

 I also did   my BA degree based around acting and writing and thinking out of the box creative, so I need to use the skills I have.

I see so much light up ahead… what a difference three /four days makes eh?

If you can do one thing in life it is this ( be it one hour, or more often)

register-volunteer

 

19 thoughts on “Doors of Creativity

  1. Pingback: Doors of Creativity #fb  – Engineer Marine Skipper
  2. Well done Daisy. Some things that we do bring us far more satisfaction than money would and sometimes through those things we also get paid eventually. The important factor is that you are loving it and it’s also helping others. I like the quote that you used and what manner of chicken, dog, duck is that? Ha, ha!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Daisy, congratulations on doing this course. It clearly has done wonders for you and for everyone else there. I am proud of you. It is so much more ‘than the money’ look how it has inspired you. Well done, and thank you for taking your time in helping others. x

    Like

  4. Wow, congratulations for completing the course. I’m guessing that must’ve been a huge challenge for you. (I assume you don’t do what people will term ‘normal’ work? That’s what makes this even more amazing.

    I’m sure you’ll be brilliant as your new role – you get enough practice here on wordpress trying to help people, and you have a really impressive amount of self understanding.

    Proud of you xx

    PS What exactly was your BA? Sounds cool x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aaaaw what a lovely thing to say. -huggs xx.. erm.. Yeah I just do a bit of volunteering with mental health charities. Just putting back what I took and gained kind of thing. Getting myself out there again.
      My BA is one of the most epic moments in my life ever. I have a BA( hons) in arts and the humanities. If you have a couple of minuttes here is me collecting my degree last November. catch up with you later . Off to the dentist today WOOP! 😀 http://bit.ly/1Q8LM6i

      Like

      • (Ugh, dentists. Never fun). It’s amazing you’re putting so much back into the mental health community; I really admire you. I’ve done fundraising, but nothing hands on. I applied for the Samaritans but they declined me because I’m not stable enough. So, fundraising is all I’m doing at the moment. It’d be good to do more. BA is awesome – what uni did you go to? I tried a course with the OU but I was (in hindsight) too ill to do it. At the time, I just felt like a failure.

        We’re always so nasty to ourselves, aren’t we?

        Like

      • Fund raising it often the hardest part of the charity sector. I applaud you for that. It is hard to get peopl to part with their pennies. I’m skilling up at the moment so I can do bigger things. I went to Leeds met for my Foundation degree in Acting performance. I finished my degree with OU – I did a course on myth in the Greek and Roman worlds and advanced creative writing.I struggled and thought of giving up but I am blessed to have a couple of family members and my hubby to be who believe in me. I think you are way too hard on yourself xxx

        Like

      • Wow, creative writing is my dream. I’m writing my 3rd novel (none published), but to study it was amazing. What was it like? My brother’s a linguist and writer so he would’ve enjoyed it too (he did pure linguistics at Oxford and has now moved onto a pHD at Cambridge… hard having clever siblings!)

        Fundraising is good, but it can only go so far. I’m just glad you’re filling your time and living life in the best way you can 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • It was tough for me being so prescriptive about writing . I’m more of a free flow writer as opposed to a major planner. I go by intuition. I did really well. My main writing strength reflected in my grades was writing stage scripts. They now have a masters degree for advanced creative writing .It starts in soon. I wish I had the cash. Maybe next year after the wedding is out of the way xxxx Wow cool fact about your bro. Oxford huh? Wouldn’t want to have a conversation with him – ha ha ;). What are your novels about?

        Like

Leave a comment

