*Recharge *Revitalise* Restore*


” In dealing with those who are undergoing great suffering, if you feel “burnout ” setting in, if you feel demoralized and exhausted, it is best, for the sake of everyone, to withdraw and restore yourself. The point is to have a long-term perspective.”~ Dalai Lama

No Memes in this post.

I’M EXHAUSTED. just want to go back to sleep. I’m angry. I know people around the world  who have severe mental health issues and are exploited by the ones closest to them.

Yesterday was challenging. I am duty bound to protect and safe guard those in my own personal life.. I had to  get tough and put some rock bottom pressure on. I had to force peoples hands.

I did this from a place of care and concern over those I love.

Exploitation. The word -always makes me think of young Slovakian girls being trafficked for their body.

A lot of the time exploitation can happen and does happen closer to home.

Family exploit family don’t they?

It happens all the time – watch Jerry springer or Jeremy Kyle.

Money and addictions and poor mental can make a poisonous cocktail.

I wonder to myself how many times could, or  indeed should I give chances to people who constantly let me and  or  others down; or have never ever been an ally from day one.

This is especially true in relationships – one example being relationship dynamics in  families.

We want to forgive and move on and one day we might see a a spark of change. We may  even say:

“I can see this person is struggling lets give this person another shot”

The fact is this person or people  may turn out to have missed a true vocation in Acting.

Treachery.

That happens a lot in family and in relationships in general.

Has anyone tried to give a person the benefit of the doubt over and over again? Only  to find out that you have been living under a lens. Living under a lens of a person trying to find out your weakness to exploit them for their own gain?

Have you seen this done to some one you love? care about?

Some times you have to make tough decisions. You have to force the poison out and that means going to the source –

no bullshitting and pussyfooting about.

It is about  telling it like it is and what is going to happen.

I’m sure I am not alone. We all have people we love. We see the people in our life battle and sometimes recover and get better at dealing with life.

You see something come along that you know could take the very person you love who is doing better out and your don’t want to lose them,

so what do you do?

I know what I would do

I fight in their corner. I become merciless. Once bridges have been burned -especially if the bridge was not based on a solid foundation to begin with – I fight and protect the ones who I feel need me. The people I want in my life.

It might not be my battle or yours but I feel it becomes mine when I  see someone falling and you I know  how to solve the immediate  and long term problem.

Usually the most vulnerable people in our society are the ones who don’t want to make waves or feel duty bound to stick up for the very people who get used for another their advantage.

This happens a lot. If it had to start happening close to home or close to the home of someone I love. I get into sniper mode and I can be ruthless.

Vulnerable people need to be protected, treated humanely, respected, listened to  and encouraged to talk.

Yes, there is an influx of people who need help. If it was an easy job  to tackle and well paid, everyone would want to work or volunteer in the mental health sector.

I see many professionals like a doctor reduced to machines when dealing with peoples problems. They see it all the time and  become conditioned to protect their own  feelings and  usually come across as cold and anal.

Mental health charities try to humanise a persons experience and validate these people again.

So yes, I am exhausted. I didn’t get a chance to shut down. I may not have got everything I wanted to do done  yesterday. I’m going to carry on but I need to listen to my own trigger signs.

My body and mind say go back to sleep and gain more energy.

Today is going to be a long one……..

Should I just close my eyes fro am minute or two? I want to make sure everything and everyone gets my full attention. Balance is hard to find when you become a vigilante for people.

Life is simple if you just keep to yourself but I can’t watch someone  who has done everything in their power to live and be the best they can be, be exploited and watch their health dip even more.

There is also the hard tough love and judgement calls we have to make when we try and try and try again to help someone, who may not want to see the problem -they lie to themselves and to others.

It’s a fucking sorry state to be in –

horrific enough to watch someone have to go through that and know that no matter what is said and done -nothing will change until a person wants change.

So yesterday was all about  dealing with various issues and giving my time and listening.

Where in all of this do I STAND?

 I need to get some sleep so  I can get shit done properly. I can’t function on anything the way I feel now. so first I have to take care of my mental health and only then can I give my full attention to others and that spills over in to my blogging life.

I want to take in what I hear ,see and read.

So, I  will catch up with you all later.

Tuesday what awaits me?

Have an epic day and look after you first.  You can’t hlep anyone if your health is suffering.

 

10 thoughts on “*Recharge *Revitalise* Restore*

  1. With you on this one. Life is a delicate balance in which one must take care of themselves so that they can be effective at taking care of others.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post, Daisy. And so very true, I think many of us have been in a similar situation before. It’s always so exhausting to fight a battle like that – it leaves you run down, tense and irritable. But you’re a strong woman, you know what’s best for you right now. I know very few people who are in-tuned with themselves as well as you are, my friend. That opening quote from the Dalai Lama says it all really … xx

    Liked by 3 people

    • Thanks Kim. I was looking for answers this morning when I found this qote and everything had caught up with me. My adrenaline was gone and I had to make a judgement call. I can love and support but I can’t be a martyr. If you never let a person try and figure it out on their own, I think in my opinion I am actually making things worse for that person. I have decided to take a break today and do the things I enjoy. I’ve had a lie in. I’m more awake. I want to catch up on blogs and do stuff more for me today. Tomorrow I can start being more useful again. I keep apologising but my partner gets mad with me. He is such a great guy. Bless him xxx

      Liked by 1 person

      • Good assessment, Daisy. I agree actually, it’s great to help people but sometimes the only way they are going to learn and grow is to rise to the challenge alone.
        I’m so glad you’re having a day to do things just for you. Your partner sounds like a good guy too. Enjoy your day – relax & have fun. Life’s too short to do anything else xx

        Liked by 1 person

  3. All very true. Very pertinent to my own experiences of late with piss-takers, people who claim change then repeat-offend causing massive ripple effects but are only interested in servicing their own selfish needs. And like you, I’m done with it. I’ll take it a lot longer than most and then BOOM! That’s me done, out, off and never looking back.

    Great post, thank you xx

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a comment

