Can I just say….


This won’t be a long one folks, I want to demonstrate how powerful communicating with other bloggers is.

I’m not trying to sell you anything or get you to come on board my ship, I just want to give you an example of the power of engaging with other bloggers.

We all have busy lives.

We all get tired .

We all have those moments where we can’t keep our eyes open and don’t won’t to let our bloggers down and have done t the whole skim read and like and that is it.

Or it could just be me.

img_9232.png

It is okay to admit it.

Honesty has never failed me in all my 34 years on this planet-

We may use machines to communicate but our own  finely crafted machinery also needs  re-charging and that means taking a break and doing other things.

So long as you are engaging ,by taking a real interest in peoples lives and what they have to say, 80% of the time. You can let yourself off the hook 20% of the time.

operational-operational-out-of-order-cat-meme.jpg

Other bloggers have lives too.

WE ALL WANT TO BE ACKNOWLEDGED.  

don’t we?

Here is an example of  the power of the blogging 80% /20% rule.

Today,I’ve been out doing MORE training (enjoying it) and I come home. There is my family to look after , the wedding and all the other commitments and things I want to do.

One being finishing that book and setting up that new pin board on Pinterest for my new wardrobe image I am wanting to go for.

I open my emails,

 I have a PLEASE MODERATE COMMENT – in the ABOUT DAISY section of my blog .

“Well, I’m here because Aurawithwriting said I should come take a look…so I have and wow….she’s was not joking…you are an amazing person. Just reading this bit is an inspiration in itself. My sincere apologies but…I’m going to now follow your blog”

GARY –FICTION IS FOOD BLOG

That is it.

Boom!

connection – new content to read, new people to chat to , new ideas and the big bonus some one who starts following my  blog

Effort is required. Showing interest   sometimes  80% of the time,has to be more than just a like.

whatcha_thinkin_bout

A like can’t show your off your   personality,

Or

 If you want to think ruthlessly- 

 Give other  blogs similar  attention to the kind which you may want from your blog.

I started blogging in september 2015 and from blogging the way I do. I will only talk about the wordpress community here. No html /rss feed/ ( not including twitter or other social media websites).

I have no idea how that all works! 

 By taking some time to check out what others have to say or think or what they are going through , I have not 0 Word press followers –

I kind of hate that term so I call us  all flowers.

I’m am proud I stuck to my guns.

I’m proud to say I have 403 word press flowers wafting in and out of my life regularly .

Not all comment but I have built and still am building up strong connections with a number of bloggers.

People may not think 403 is a  NOT  a big WOW

844

I, on the other hand, think 1 is a massive compliment.

 I am humbled and blown away by the connections I have made in the Word Press community alone.

Of course, it is exciting to see success- numbers going up rather than down.

I think numbers going down are only fun when we are on the scales. Well I would say that 😉

There is this saying it goes soemthing like ….

‘Some people are so afraid of success that when it is within ones grasp that person runs away from it. ‘ – I kind of improvised that one 😀

Insane! I know…

Yeah it’s scary to comment and it might come off phony even but we have to start somewhere.

ce979b97d7c3a6a80df45851869414d9

I’m no expert -far from it but I wanted to share something that makes me feel good .

This is something I have in my life that is special.

Run with  the fear , the unknown – it will get you further than the spot you are on at this very moment in time.

Gradually or rapidly -I can’t predict that – but it will happen.

 Thank you  as always.

I don’t want to go on too much.

But I have this feeling that a lot of people in the blogging world are looking for a voice they don’t find in the non virtual world.

I am merely assuming.

 

 

You have the platform -use it.

Strut across it ,do a funny dance, recite poetry, show off your new Spring wardrobe.

my-voice

Make you mark.

Make it count.

That’s all I wanted to say really….

 

 

 

 

 

77 thoughts on “Can I just say….

  1. Great points. But hey, the cat picture is hard to top here. Seriously, a comment is a great achievement most of the time. It gives you ideas of what is heard from weekday you said.

    Like

  2. I try to follow everyone who follows me, but I had to find certain rules to blog by to have enough hours in the day to enjoy life, write, spend time with family. I try to read as much as I can. I try to commenton everything that leaves an impression on me. I aslos tend to follow by reciprocating. My most faithful followers will be followed faithfully. They come first on my list of posts to read. BTW Good post.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. If I commented on every post I read, my day would consist of nothing but commenting on others’ blogs. I have a life, a book to finish, I just don’t have the time. But if I only hit “like” on a post, that means I have read and enjoyed. And I know many bloggers post multiple times a day, and I can’t keep up with that, so some I just have to skip reading and move on. I appreciate every comment I recieve, and I appreciate every like. I have made some amazing friends on WordPress, and cherish every single one. But I can’t spend my life here.

    Liked by 3 people

    • That is a good point your make Mary .I don’t know how long you gave been blogging for but I have only been doing it for 7 months and I have to tell myself. I too have a life outside of blogging and the true people I connect with aren’t going to not want to be my friend 😉 if I can’t keep up to date with every single post.

      Liked by 1 person

      • This blog, I’ve been doing for less than a year; I had a previous one for around a year and a half. I’ve meet some amazing, interesting people here on WordPress whose blogs I enjoy (like yours), but it’s getting to the point I can’t read every post. I think a lot of us are at that point–or past it–where we have to skip some posts, and for one, I know I understand.

        Liked by 2 people

      • Thanks,,The feeling is mutual 🙂 It gets harder to follow loads of blogs when you have to operate your own blog so II’m finding that the best balance is to mainly stick to commentating with the blogs and bloggers I have hit some kind of a rapport with like you . I will always try and make time for your blog as opposed to someone who I have never really got chatting with. Life is busy – Blogging is time consuming. It is what it is 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    • That is so funny ,Mon. I just checked my emails and it said you were following me. I shook my head in confusion because I know you follow my blog as closely as I follow yours. Ah – thanks for checking 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I was so elated when I realized about the pingback. I cannot thank you enough for making me feel so good after a hectic day! Your blog is worth recommending any day and I take immense pleasure in doing so! 😊 This seriously made my day! Thanks to you and Gary! 😄

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m always honest, to a fault…but it is what it is. I’m not critical – I comment on what I see and move on, so criticism is in the ear of the listener, just like beauty is in the eye of the beholder.
    It’s all relative!
    😉

    Like

  6. Yer blog is one of my favs. Yeah, it has to do with the content, but then again, it’s just you. Quirky, fun, responsive… an all around beautiful soul. No stuffy stuff, jus keepin’ it real. I think it is the genuineness that has generated the numbers and a few of those zinger quotes like the ones you just made up.

    Like

    • Words to live by. Yes I sometimes do the “like thing” but you are right. You made me realize I need to give more attention to those who take the time to read what I have to say. I have also reblogged your post.

      Liked by 1 person

    • ha ha yes, I love a good quote ! our blog s couldn’t be more different but I love reading what you have to say. I always feel I am learning something. Yor blog is one of my faves too :_ it is a mutual appreciation 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I agree with so much in this post. I’m trying to communicate with the blogs I follow, but sometimes I feel like my comments are stupid. Is it enough to write “great post” because you genuinely think it is? Sometimes when I elaborate my words come out jumbled. Oh well, I will keep trying and I hope people keep trying with me!

    Like

    • I think Great post is a great start – it can lead onto great post – loved the bit where your cat clawed your cardigan to death.. You know what I mean? Don’t be scared of what you put down – you can always re edit. I find just typing as I think helps . Not really thinking too much about what I am going to say helps me – but we do all have different styles and what works for one may not work for another 🙂 xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I love this post and I can honestly say that your impact really is extraordinary. Whenever I look at my blog and get a notification that you’ve commented it makes my day just a little bit brighter. Even if I can’t respond right away or look at the comment right away, I know that I have something to look forward to later on because you always have such kindhearted and insightful things to say.
    So with that being said, thank you SO MUCH for all of the wonderful comments that you have left me on my own blog posts, and thank you also for sharing your blog posts with the world! Your optimism and encouragement is contagious and so uplifting. I hope you continue to find interacting with your flowers (LOVE that by the way!) rewarding and engaging.
    xo
    Ayla

    Liked by 1 person

  9. It’s funny. I don’t mind someone just clicking like on my posts because I’m just happy they took the time to stop by. On the other hand, I have a hard time just clicking like on someone else’s blog. Most of the time I will say something, however there are times where I feel the author captured the idea and I feel I have nothing to add. Just saying “I agree” just doesn’t seem enough, but I don’t want to just make a comment for the sake of making a comment.

    It is a dilemma.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. How very true this is…I open up my notifications and voila…ping back from DaisyWillows…and embedded in the text is my opening message after a blog recommendation from one of those strong connections Aurawithwriting whom I now have the privalige of calling friend…how? Struck up a random conversation and boom…a few weeks later and we are commenting regularly and introducing new bloggers.

    Here in this ping back I find her recommendation spot on…you are indeed a wonderful person and I must sincerely thank you for using my intro to your world as part of this wonderful post 😊

    Liked by 2 people

  11. This was an amazing post. I sometimes wish more people would comment on my posts instead of just liking them. Yes, you liked my post, but what did you like about it? What I loved about this post is how you mentioned we all need a break sometimes and have other things going on. I run two blogs, and one is easier to run then the other.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Spot on with that. Likes are good in terms of knowing it’s been seen but the real connections come from comments and sometimes they just deliver a feel good factor which can lift a bad day…sometimes they turn into long conversations and in them comes that added value as bloggers become friends. Have to say when I started here back in January this year it was daunting….everyone seemed to have a billion followers, know each other and who was I to them? But…when I started to engage it became clear the blogosphere is brimming with some of the most generous people from all over the globe that one could ever hope to meet. The initial fears became overrun with a real sense of community. We don’t always have time to comment but when times presents I do try and engage the odd post…long may that continue.

      Like

      • Exactly. I participated in the A to Z April blogging challenge and I got more likes on posts than comments. It’s sometimes disheartening because we put a lot of effort to craft our posts and sometimes it’s like for what?

        Liked by 1 person

      • I hear you there…I think many just go down the reader hitting like. I’ve no personal gripe with that because I’m guessing with a large following it gets very time consuming to hit every post. Now and then though the comments really make a big difference to motivation. I try and hit posts as much as I can because I’m accutely aware of the feeling of isolation when tumbleweed drips through. The A to Z is a real big commitment too. Lot of time spent in creating something and it’s nice to catch someone who validates that effort. For me likes are important indicators the post is actually being seen. I try not to take things personally if responses are limited but what I do do actively is engage anybody that comments on my blog….turn them into conversations. It builds that strong connection Daisy mentioned….and in my case it’s turned some commenters into friends. All I can say is engage at every opportunity….it’s as important as spending hours crafting the post…all about time though…never enough !

        Liked by 1 person

      • I found Daisy’s blog through the challenge!! I love going through my reader, if a blogger I follow posts something that I can relate to I always try to make an effort to comment. It’s easier to comment when you can relate to the posts.

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s also a valid point. Relating is key to commenting. I try and follow anything to do with writing because that’s what I do…mind you I can and do tap into anything and everything whenever possible. Bit like this really…so I’m off to have a look at yours !

        Liked by 1 person

    • That is exactly it. How do you gauge what it is people like if from time to time some folk don’t take that time to let you know what made them like your post. We all need a break. I’m starving so I’m going to get some food and hopefully hopefully get round to some of the other things I want to do 🙂 THANK YOU for taking the time to let me know what you got out of this post. Means a lot 🙂 Have a good evening 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  12. Love this post Daisy, I think you are totally on the mark, and many may feel and think like you, It is so nice to connect with others within this blogosphere, I love it here, it’s like a new branch of life, that has maybe little to do with my everyday norm, Also as you say we all have busy life’s, but there is room for everything if that is what we want.
    Have a great weekend
    Brooke x

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

