Z – Zealous


Z

My awful confession.

It’s the last post. I’m on Z. Today I have a confession to make and  I am so so ashamed!

My French Grandmother, who has the last stages of vascular Dementia lived in a different time to me.

Many years ago , my late Grandpa, bought a gift for my Grandma. I think she had the coat made for her  in Vienna.

It is no ordinary coat.

It has her initials engraved on the inside and I’m quite sure I’ve seen Kate Moss wear  something similar.

In my twenties, my Grandma decided to give me this coat as a birthday present. It didn’t fit her any longer.

I was an ignorant person at that time and wore it with pride. It kept out the cold and it was soft and beautiful.

I own a lynx fur coat.

shock_horror_3
I CAN HEAR ALL THE TSKING AND THE STIRRING OF RED PAINT ALREADY.

Now before you go

“burn it ,Daisy , burn it. Sell it or whatever.. Just get rid, girlfriend cos if you don’t. See this?  you and me?  we are done. And I mean done .”

You must understand that this is something sentimental that my grandma gave me before she got ill.

I live with this secret. NOT ANY MORE! 

I don’t wear it.

I feel like a hypocrite.

My Mom won’t keep it.

She doesn’t want me to get rid of it while my grandma is still alive.

So this is my shameful secret.

Yesterday I looked at it and I put it on and I felt like Hannibal.

tumblr_ma53i2sihq1qc13u5.gif

Images popped up of what happened to this animal so many decades ago.

I guess how I am going to end this post is like this.

It’s not easy or even affordable to just switch over your whole life style to not eating or wearing anything that hasn’t had an animal involved in the process in some way.

In all honesty.

I frittered my wedding money away a couple of years ago to try my hand working for a non animal tested and environmental friendly business that sold everything from make up to house hold products – to clothes.

It’s expensive.

I even stopped eating sweets because I knew that they had gelatin in them, and that derives from animal fat.

Anyone want motivation for going on a diet? You have one 🙂

We can’t get it right all the time. Not yet.

HOWEVER,

 We can all become that little bit more aware about where our consumables  come from, who suffers , power yourself up with knowledge as shocking and awful as it is.

8131cbf0e3d960f7a10c09c08a628139

I’m not asking you to go all  over zealous over it  but the first step to fighting this massive topic of animal abuse in all its forms -is to become conscious.

Being conscious leads to decision making  and any action you do that comes from a good place in your heart or mind is a good start.

Oh and one final thought before I wrap this up. I came down into the kitchen the other evening and my better half was grilling bacon.

I nearly threw up. The smell was rank. disgusting. He thought I was going all Johnny Drama on him but honestly it made me feel sick to the point I ran out of that kitchen.

0ff16a5a13fdca8da9233b78c7c26dc7
JUST LIKE US… I DON’T WANT TO EAT SOMETHING OR SOMEBODY JUST LIKE ME

THAT’S IT -A-Z  and only one day late

Thanks for the the support and new flowers I’ve made and met.

It has been a pleasure.

27 thoughts on “Z – Zealous

  1. Your heart speaks volumes!! Something such as your grandmas coat is so sentimental. Personally, I would never get rid of it! Just put it up somewhere and know that your grandma loves you so much. Focus on the good times. Dementia is so hard – been there with my mother-in-law and father-in-law had full blown Alzheimers. My thoughts are with you and your family.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Consciousness and awareness are the first steps to stop animal abuse. And you’ve done a great job of spreading awareness! A very unique and thoughtful theme, successfully completed. Congratulations!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Right answers can never be found in the world of strictures and outward morals. You have faced an occasion where to keep one moral precept is to violate another. That is why the conscious world is not built strictly upon law, but on the spirit of it.
    The animals are dead and gone and the Grandma… The animals cannot be honoured anymore, only with our choices going forward. Grandma will always be in your memories. The Spirit of goodness inside will show you what to do with the coat in time. My guess is that you will not wear it much, but maybe put it to some good use. It is not a sin to receive a gift and to honour the one that gave it.
    As for bacon… I’m with you on that one. Disgusting! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • You make so much sense. I thought about selling it once my Gran has passed on but I feel I will be no better than the person who shot it, made it and wore it. Ignorance is bliss. I can’t just burn it! My gran gave it to me with all her heart and kindness. She didn’t and will never know how that fur got made into her coat. I’m so glad it’s not just me. Gaz thought I was being a drama queen!. It was foul. foul. foul. I have never smelled burning flesh but it repulsed me so much -I used to love the smell of bacon when I was a kid.. Strange …

      Liked by 1 person

      • Perhaps there is some spiritual realities coming to bear with the bacon. Perhaps you are not into taking anymore because the taking is there to taken. That is the meaning of bacon, and if you’re not into that, these things often run in parallel.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I think we all have our own beliefs and as long as you’re happy to keep the coat, then don’t let other people’s put you off (you’re friends might be relieved – after all, you can hardly lecture them for eating meat when you have a fur coat lol). It’s not like you personally asked for the Lynxes to be killed, the coat was probably in existence long before you were and it’s value to you isn’t monetary, it’s a link to someone important in your life
    Debbie

    Like

    • that we do. Ha! yes. Nice one I can guilt trip people who eat meat because they (animals) don’t get treated any better. It was made in the late seventies so yes a few years before I was born. Thanks for helping me feel less of a hypocrite xxx

      Like

  5. Great post Daisy, but regarding your coat, I can totally understand the sentimental connection and I understand your feelings regarding the matter, you do what you think best and I don’t think anyone will hold it against you, we all know how you feel inside, but your heart is there also, a big heart, so don’t worry about your secret x (I have no red paint anyway !! ha ha ) Have a good day

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

