THANKS FOR THE PICK ME UP


What do I do when I have gone down with the sand storm?  Grit takes up all my viewing pleasure and the grains feel like an full body  ex-foliation massage  with the devil himself?

Two things: I focus on the good in my life  and engage with other people.

WOW! I received the Liebster award and today I am going to use it to  as my very own  four by four wheely to get me out of desert  and closer to the ocean. My favourite place to be.

So thank you to Getting through to Anxiety- a step by step using Practice for lifting my spirits and actually nominating my blog for an award.

I think there is something quite special about being nominated. I know it has become popular to let people nominate themselves but this ,in my opinion, renders the whole idea of accepting an award  as generic. It takes all the excitement and the personal touch out of it. That is my opinion.

A quote from my nominators ABOUT PAGE. I really needed to read this quote and I am repeating it as I type.

“Repeat after me: I am stronger than this challenge. And this challenge is making me even stronger.” I originally saw this amazing quote here.

-B.G., Getting Through Anxiety

I want to add that if you accept any award you should only feel comfortable disclosing what you feel comfortable doing and rules in my opinion are flexible ( and sometimes can be broken)

The point is nurturing the essence of the award and upholding that spirit. All my opinion of course.

The Rules:

  1. Thank the person  who nominates you and include a link to their blog.

  2. Display the award image on your blog.

  3. Write a 150-300 word post on your favourite blog that is not your own. Explain why this blog is your favorite and provide links.

  4. Give up to  10 random facts about yourself.

  5. Nominate 5-11 bloggers that have less than 200 followers for this award.

  6.  Put these rules in your post.

  7. Tell  your nominees that they have been nominated for the Liebster Award and provide a link for their blogs.

  8. Come up with 11 questions for your nominees to answer.

FAVOURITE BLOG

What? This is impossible to answer. Every blog I follow,I do  because they rock and I love reading them. I’m going to switch things up here. Instead of saying who my favourite blog is I am going to tell you the first blog that comes to my mind when I think of awesomeness . This is only one of many

Confessions of Anna Secret Poet

I like people who  have gumption and are not afraid to put their face to their thoughts. I love what Anna does with her Blog. I think she rocks. She reminds me to always take pride in my self and to never be anything but honest and myself . If people don’t like that- well – their loss.

10 Random facts

  1. I love cocktails. I haven’t had a drink since NYE 2015

  1. I can live on  liquorice and milk bottles

  2. I am in love with the 1920’s -1940’s era -fashion and music

  3. I used to love reading Martina Cole books but then I opened up my mind and I love all book genres now

  4. I have so many books I have yet to read.

  5. I lived in France for a few years in Marseilles and Grenoble and worked as a femme de menage and a waitress . Oh the glamour!

  6. I spent my 5th birthday at Disney’s Orlando in 1986  – ran after Cinderella and when I finally stopped her – she told me she was on her lunch break. Traumatized for years.

  7. I actually wear glasses but usually wear contacts

  8. I am a sucker for nostalgia. I have a box full of little trinkets and letters and memories from past loves, places I have been, things I have done

  9. I am very good at making out my life is all  peaches and cream and fairy dust and unicorn poop.

Q&A TIME

1.) What’s your favourite personality trait that you possess?

Easy peasy. I’m blunt and honest. If you are having a fat / bad ego day and you really want to know what I think – (don’t ask me unless you really want to know)

2.) What’s the last book you read? Did you enjoy it?

I am Pilgrim – Terry Hayes.  Surprisingly, I did enjoy it. Highly recommend – here’s a link

3.) What would your dream office look like

Would include a king side bed , a/c, clean white ,roomy, minimalist – secret room to keep all my books in , a 15 step walk from my bed  will  be four steps descending into my own pool with a view of a  waterfall  cascading down.  It would have Surround sound for  listening to music, and all the latest technology. A secret password to get in and a  jazz  night club  themed shower room .

4.) What issue do you feel most strongly about?

There are so many.  Equality. Anti cruelty.  Covers most of the issues I am passionate about.

5.) If you could choose one event in your life to do over again, what would you choose?

First one comes to mind going to Ibiza (but this time with more money and time )

6.) Have you ever woke up from a dream crying? If so, what was the dream about (if you don’t remember or want to share, that’s fine!)

I have .. I dreamt my Mom got eaten by a shark. ‘Jaws’ the movie had come out around the that time and my evil cousin was “babysitting” me and forced me to watch it with his date and then made me go to bed on my own afterwards. BASTARD!

7.) Favourite sports team?

Miami heat (Basket ball) and Springboks (Rugby)  and Durban sharks.(local South African Rugby team)

8.) Favourite brand of Shampoo?

Aussie (matie )…

9.) Favourite genre of book to read?

Classics – everything..

10.) What was the last movie you saw that you didn’t like?

Oh some rubbish Horror  movie – ‘Diabolical’ – Lived up to its name…. plot went ~AWOL

11.) If you could be an actor/actress in a movie, which movie would you choose? Why

I’m going to  cheat a bit. If I could be an actor it would have to be Niklaus Michaelson from ‘the Originals’ series or one of his love interests. Why ? because he has the most disarming smile and is the ultimate bad boy and vampire/werewolf hybrid. I like a bit of danger .:D

Blog I nominate –  NEW FLOWERS IN DAISY IN THE WILLOWS THEME: MENTAL HEALTH  AWARENESS

  1. hwbrycethewriter – MUST CHECK OUT THIS BLOG –
  2. sweety5225’s Blog MY THOUGHTS ABOUT DEPRESSION, SUICIDE AND LIVING
  3. theutopiauniverse Hello, And welcome to my blog,my aim is to offer help,advice and teach ,great things into your life everyday !
  4. intothisbreakinglight
  5. CONFESSIONS Bringing to Light that which is Hidden

QUESTION TIME

  1. If You Could Bring One Musician Back From The Dead, Who Would It Be And Why?

  2. If You Could Live In A Book, TV Show Or Movie, What Would It Be?

  3. If You Could Get Away With A Crime, Would You? If Yes, What Would It Be?

  4. Where Do You See Yourself In Five Years?

  5. If You Could Live Forever, How Would You Spend Eternity?

  6. How Do You Want To Be Remembered?

  7. If You Could Travel Anywhere In The World, Where Would It Be?

  8. What Would Be Your “Perfect” Day?

  9. . If You Could Speak Another Language, Which Would It Be And Why?

  10. . What Makes You Happiest?

  11. If You Could Change One Thing About Yourself, What Would It Be?

 

17 thoughts on “THANKS FOR THE PICK ME UP

  1. Hi Daisy. Congratulations on your nomination. I think that is great.
    And *gulp!* What a surprise, that you would think to nominate me. Thank you.
    Only one thing about that: my main writing site is hwbrycewrites.com.
    Love your answers. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you so much Daisy! You have some really interesting answers and facts and inspiration in your post. I have to admit I am terrible at answering nomination questions but I will do my best and hope you won’t be too offended if I take a few days… I truly am grateful for the nomination and happy you care enough about my blog to think it’s worth a visit xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Ginny .I don’t think there is a right or wrong answer just go with what ever your mind or thoughts go with. You don’t have to accept the award but it can be a really powerful way for people to see a different side to you. I don’t think my answers are so fascinating . I also think they may be boring but we have to try these things xx

      Like

Leave a comment

