The Daddy Blitz- ‘walk the line’


“Well I’m thankful for the things I have,
And all the things I don’t.
And I’ve got dreams that will come true,
And I’ve got some that won’t.
Most the time I just walk the line- wherever it goes.
‘Cuz you can’t hang yourself if you ain’t got enough rope.”

-Christ Knight, “Enough Rope”

THANK YOU and a huge SHOUT OUT  TO   DaddyBlitz @The Daddy Blitz -Blogging about Family ,Religion and Politics  for these lyrics for #FollowGreatFootsteps. I found myself in stitches (not of the hanging rope/ medical kind) at the humour.

These lyrics give you a sense of what the mood is like on DaddyBlitz’s blog.

Want to know more about this Christian singer artist, Chris Knight ?  HERE YOU GO

Some valuable advice is  ‘ walk the line’. I had to look that up because I haven’t done a whole lot of ‘walking the line’ in my life.  😀

Walk the line

1. To maintain a fragile balance between one extreme and another. i.e.: good and evil, sanity and insanity, decency and decadence, etc.
2. To behave; to abide by the the law and/or to abide by moral standards; to walk a straight path of decency by following the rules; to “walk the straight and narrow.”

The latter definition is that applied in the song “Walk the Line” by Johnny Cash.

1. I walk the line between good and evil.

2. I used to be a drunken thug, but now I walk the line

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Walk%20the%20line

I do love Johnny Cash. So thanks for the this new term. I do a lot of that these days.

giphy (5).gif

So what about DaddyBlitz ?

Last night I read his post and he  was writing about his life being married and having 5 sons varying from the age of 4-14 years old.

He has this way of writing that made me think

I could be a a mother again… It’s not that hard, surely …

Then I realised this is DaddyBlitz!

A man of God,

An epic and comic parent,

Works in the Attorney trade.

He writes and he blogs about  PARENTHOOD ,RELIGION  and POLITICS.  

He also Writes SHORT STORIES and POETRY  too!

He even has a GUEST BOOK on his blog. It’s such a lovely touch. People leaving their thoughts in comments about his blog – check it out.

Then, I realised that this man in my eyes must be some Demi — God. So, the planning to have another sibling for my daughter went back into it’s little cave again.

fba0ca5b09306e5ed556bd75999f03f5ff93adf6d5bb3d1074df865745d4de8f

COULDN’T RESIST! 😀

 

He reminds me of my G

No G is not in the attorney trade

Nor does he have a growing hockey team

But he does have the same spirit.

I read his post on Advice to new parents -Relax and I thought if this  is who springs to mind when I read this man’s Blog then I have nothing to fear when I get married -or maybe everything . Ha ha.

DaddyBlitz’s Blog  deals with heavy themes but not in the way I expected . There is a lightness, a spring in his style of writing and humour is never far away.

I love to laugh so I am sold –

giphy (6).gif

I follow this dudes blog.

I’ve ‘walked the line’ for a few years now and I never thought this would come out but I love the security I feel. I love the feeling of contentment I have in me and I love the direction my path is on.

I will always be a rebellious spirit is some form but I realise I can do this in way that doesn’t damage me and the ones around me. 

When I was in the thick of all the crap I went through a few years ago. I spent a lot of time with my legal team. They kept me going. 

The first solicitor I met was when I was when I woke up in a cell and didn’t know why. 

It was all around the issues with my daughter and that night.

I didn’t want an attorney because I didn’t know that the charges brought against me was assault. The police insisted I have some form of legal representation with me. 

I met S – the solicitor.

We went into a room to chat. I told him as much as I could remember. 

I didn’t know yet that all the tests had come back on the assault allegation. 

S started to tell me a story it went like this

“Did you know last week I went to   played in a baseball match in Manchester and it was a perfect day, the sun the was shining, I saw this ball coming for me and I whacked this ball so high – everyone scrambled for it. The thing is I don’t remember running each base.”

I was like.

okay…. the thought never occurred to me that baseball is an American sport and we were in the U.K. and I thought what a cool story – thanks for telling me.

He then came out with the words :

“Do you want to know why I can’t remember?

I obviously wanted to know and I nodded my head.

” Because it didn’t happen” 

I choked up.

Just because my loose cannon ball ex made the allegation I shook my child there was  no evidence and it didn’t happen. It was a lie.

Yeah, so thank you for this and for  engaging with my #FollowGreatFootsteps challenge I came up with.

Solid advice to live by .

I’m always looking for great quotes so if you have one that is unusual or unique -let me know in the comment sections. I will make sure I post your quote/ folk tale/proverb/ in #FollowGreatFootsteps category and I will send a a direct link to your page 🙂
A GREAT WAY TO GET YOUR BLOG A SHOUT OUT TOO!

*OPTIONAL* -add a short or long comment about why you love a particular quote a simple word or to on what it means to you.

Why do it?
Who doesn’t love a good quote?

Bringing inspiring quotes into our conscious minds gives us the chance to try and adopt that quality we love in an inspirational person

DAISY XOXOXO

 

 

19 thoughts on “The Daddy Blitz- ‘walk the line’

  1. Here is my favorite quote from Frank Herbert’s book “Dune”:

    “I must not fear.
    Fear is the mind-killer.
    Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration.
    I will face my fear.
    I will permit it to pass over me and through me.
    And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path.
    Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain.”

    Like

  2. Wow! What a great Shout Out! You are awesome!

    But please don’t think of me as a demigod o_O. I’m as flawed as the next person. We are all gulls floating on the ocean amongst waves. Some are amongst huge waves and some are less threatening, but all are difficult for the gull to see over. I do have a “wind beneath my wings” (dang you Bette Midler for clichéing that phrase!) that keeps me balanced, which is my faith, which lets me cope with life with Chris Knight-like philosophy. I have learned that God’s purpose is not to solve all my problems in this broken world, but in Him I find my worth and my compass.

    As far as the lyric, the rope part really “catches” me. Scripture teaches of “freedom” we have in Christ, where we are no longer condemned for walking out of line, but when we do walk out of line, there is a lot of slack in the rope that we can get tangled in and ultimately hung. So, walking the line doesn’t “save” me, but it avoids all the dangerous slack. Not a perfect spiritual description, but I think it’s one that many of us can identify with.

    The last part of that song wraps it up pretty nicely how many of us “get along” the road of life:

    There’s a tavern down the highway, I go to drink some beers
    And wash down all I’m missin’ by hangin’ around here
    Then I drive back to the trailer; I’ll make up with my wife
    I kiss my sleeping children, and I get on with my life
    Yeah I get on with my life

    I hope you find that peace to parent yet again, and never let a social media façade scare you away from your dreams.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh my … such passionate words you almost turned me. I appreciate and admire your faith. I am more scientific in my beliefs but I don’t let it stop me learning. from other peoples faiths.. The rest of the lyrics are beautiful. I was kind of joking about the not having another child. If you knew my daughter -we can see the gift she is in our life. Her grace and presence brings us and so many others joy. I know we are all different but we are planning on having another child/s . It’s written in our personal vows that My G wants a hockey team 😉 . As long as he doesn’t mind carrying them for 9 months at a time – ha ha.. Thank you for the re blog btw. I’m so glad I started following your blog and trusted my instincts. I’m enjoying your outlook. Blessings to you and your family 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: The Daddy Blitz- ‘walk the line’ | wwwpalfitness

Leave a comment

