Let it Go.


Okay I might as well get it out now.

20 guests have been invited to our wedding on the 22/06/2016. Invitations were sent out ages ago. Everyone confirmed and then Life happened.

Everyone on the list is not expendable. In our books they are chosen for specific reasons.

Five of the guests -a family – are chosen for being the ones that brought me and my King together.

I don’t know if they will make it (I’ve asked them to tell us on many occasions) because of their current situation. It is a matter of life and death. I understand life happens but this is our wedding and after many phone calls and chats; I don’t think I will be in a  forgiving mood if they don’t make it.

Another couple is literally family. I’ve asked repeatedly over the months if they are sure that their health issues won’t affect them from coming to the wedding.

A lot of mixed signals and I’m dubious.

I’m quite sure that my two bridesmaids will be there considering the money invested in making them feel beautiful on the day. I have not gone all bridezilla on them . The only thing I made clear was I wanted their hair to be flowy and boho – up and down , plaits and not fussy with loads of crap in their hair.

I don’t want to fall out with people I have known for many years and people I will get to know in the years to come; over something that is not life threatening.

Hair – unless it involves losing it should not be a big fucking issue!

I’m starting to doubt my own hair do and thank fuck I am having another trial  soon.

I am quite positive that four of the guests will be there – unless some travesty happens and of course that would not be be their faults.

The final guests I am kind of hoping won’t have any kind of issue on the day- I understand people get sick. I  would always put my friends and families health before my own happiness.

One guest is our daughter. She is coming.

The thing is: Our wedding day is a once in a life time event.

There are many people we wanted to invite but we had to be really strict so we could have our wedding day, and make sure that every guest is catered to  and has the very best we have to offer them ,to thank them for celebrating our day: with us.

I can’t control this. It is bigger than me and I’ve got to the point now where I have to sing ‘ Let it go’ because I’m a fucking first time bride – worrying about making sure everyone else is happy while I don’t get a chance to worry about my own hair, make up, health state etc..

I know I am having a bride to be rant. I didn’t want to post it because it is so…..

so…………….. predicable.

I hate being predictable but I want my guests to be predictable.

Isn’t that a bit of a catch 22 ?

So I’m letting go and will have an epic day in spite of what happens on the day.

I love everyone who is going to be there but there are also a lot of other people I love to pieces who I wanted to be there too.

My mantra up until the wedding is this little gem

50 thoughts on “Let it Go.

  1. You remind me of a wedding I didn’t make – that still bothers me today. Even though it was a “life happens” situation, I still regret not being there. Hope everything comes together perfectly for your big day.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Oops . hit enter far too quickly. She went to New York fr a wedding and a few days before the wedding she told her two bridesmaids who also happen to be her sisters that she didn’t want them as bridesmaids because they were too fat! They were only allowed at the wedding as guests. Some people are so shallow.

        Like

  2. Oh don be stressed! You are no where near bridezilla symptoms 🙂 Its the one day in your life and you are totally allowed even to have a teeny bit of bridezilliness 😉 Enjoy the day and let things work out on their own 🙂 Letting it go seems to be the perfect option 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. As someone who has been married 4 times and divorced 3 (so far) good luck Daisy. May the day be memorable for all the right reasons, in the end though you and your groom are the ones who will be making vows to each other. Don’t worry about your invited guests, the ones who make it are the ones who count. The hair and makeup will be perfect so don’t worry about it. Love is all you need xo

    Like

    • Hi Dave. I think you beat my own Mom with weddings 😀 3 times married and 3 times divorced. My hubby to be on the other hand has his parents still together and in love. I will never get married again. I know they say we shouldn’t say stuff like that because in all truth I don’t know what the future holds but we have been through a shit load and we are still together. I am in love and I love G. He is my best friend. The people who count are what matters you are so right! Thanks for the lovely words xx

      Liked by 1 person

      • You’re welcome Daisy, I hope you and G. have a fantastic life together going forward. After my 3rd divorce I swore never to do it again but then I met my current wife and we fit together so well although we’re total opposites. Funny how life turns out, still enjoy your big day and there’s no reason why you two shouldn’t make it work and become just like G’s parents 😃💝

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks! There are no right or wrongs when it comes to love. I do believe sometimes we need more than love to make things work . I am so glad you are happy. I don’t judge and sometimes it takes time to find the right person. This could have been my 2/3 or 4th wedding but life is a funny old thing. 🙂

        Like

  4. It is your special day with G, make the most of it. All that is important is that the two of you, are happy, and that they day is great. Try not stress, you have done your best, so be it if some don’t arrive, it will be their loss. It is perfectly understandable that you are feeling as you are feeling, but you are right…Let it go ! hugs x

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I think it’s okay to have those thoughts. This is a special day and you really want to spend it with those closest to you. It is completely understandable to be upset if they can’t make it, whatever the reason. However! I think it is awesome you are letting it go and releasing that tension. It takes a strong person to do that. Don’t be hard on yourself if you feel disappointed if people can’t make it, but I really hope you have an amazing wedding with good memories to last a lifetime!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. As long as you, hubby to be and your little one are there!! you’ve got everything and everyone you want………..everything will be fine, here’s a little tip….Picture yourself on an idyllic south pacific island. See yourself on the sun bleached sands. Note what you’re wearing, the relaxed way you’re standing, the way the breeze blows your hair, the calm semi-smile on your face, Now imagine what it feels like to be there……………………….and chill xxxx

    Liked by 2 people

  7. That was one very well done parody. I can’t add anything to it… except… chill, it will all come together just the way it is supposed to. 😉

    Liked by 2 people

    • Yeah. It was the only one I could find on Youtube – I am going to chill. You made a point in your last post. I can’t be everywhere so I have to go at a pace that I am happy with. You always have some wise words for me ART 🙂 Thank you for taking the time out to offer it.

      Like

Leave a comment

