galvanize


How to be a panster writer like moi ?

pansterdefine.JPG

Okay…. I know that  free flow writing is not new to me. In my opinion,  if you want to be a writer – I think in the early stages it’s okay to write whatever comes into your head.

Free flow activity rules

  • don’t intellectualize

  • bypass any rationality.

 I’ve decided to be super dedicated and share a few  of my Masters  in Creative writing exercises that I do while I’m studying.

Get involved. Cmon you know you want to. 😀

Why ?

e00af495e7d485eec500c2645dddbd4f.jpg

Exercise outcome:

Freewriting will often take you into your deepest ideas, feelings and DISCUSSION memories. It enables you to amass material, some of which can be used and developed in your work. Writing in this way also trains you to be ACTIVITY 1.2 Writing STIMULATING CREATIVITY AND IMAGINATION: WHAT REALLY WORKS? 23 able to write breezily and with confidence as soon as you sit down to do it.

Creative Writing: A Workbook with Readings

WORD!

Here some examples

Choose three or four of the following beginnings and free write for a few minutes about each one.  

  •  The truth is …

  • I wish I had said … 

  •  I need proof …  

  •  I went outside and …  

  •  For the first time ever …  

  •  It was no use pretending … 

  •  A long time ago … 

  •  That smell reminds me of..

  • One summer’s day … 

Read over your free writes. Underline any words, phrases or lines that interest you. Start to build a stock of material for possible development.

Creative Writing: A Workbook with Readings

The truth is, I wasn’t actually checking him out. I am married. Hello? I know we all check other people out but on this occasion,I was literally walking up a hill, I had to get to work and I was running ( pun  not intended) late. So, this dude walked passed . He might have been wearing sunglasses.  Who knows. I think  he was muscular. Anyway…the  REASON  I turned round was  to check if there were any cars coming up the hill. Bear with me here. Okay.. I wanted to cross the road. I’m super impatient and should probably carry and organ donor card around with me. So, I look back and this dude is looking back at the same time as I am. I am not wearing makeup. I’m feeling pale, tired, sweaty and rushed.Yet, I think to myself is that dude checking me out ? ( Ego boost alert) – then common sense and my crippling self-esteem knocked that idea completely off the hemisphere. That can happen. Trust me. Reason sets in. Of course, he is probably doing the same thing I am! 

He is in a rush – possible . I dunno. He wants to cross the road and he is checking to see if there are any cars coming before he ends up in AE  with me.  Smart guy. So, of course,I decide to look back and check if that is what he is, in fact,doing. Half expecting  to see him  crossed the road and happily strutting down the the hill  on the other side of the road. 

True story, I kid you not. He is looking back . At me? I don’t know . This is like stuff I read in novels or watch on romantic comedies… that kind of thing. 

So,of course, I’m like let’s take another look and see if he is on the other side of the road- nope we are both checking each  other out. 

The funny thing is… I wanted  to run after him and ask him if he had the same thought process as me. I wasn’t checking him out like that. 

“Yo! you are so fucking fit. Let’s hook up – in a bush -someday. Go dogging. I don’t know . Fuck it. I digress. I don’t own a dog haha.” 😉 

I didn’t run after the dude. I did stop dead in my tracks and take out my little notebook and wrote down exactly  what happened. I just knew it would make a great scenario  in a play or a story that I write.

A bit like this.

Okay, so that is one example.

Free flow is not Master degree study material.I feel that it is  good practice to go over previous study material –  so that is what I am doing.

Luckily, I have this blog and I am able to write whatever I want and stay in the habit of writing.

No – I don’t always produce what I think are masterpieces.

I just enjoy the process of this style of  writing. The freedom that comes with it.

I was going to do another example but now I’m just typing away. I’m not particularly bothered that this not a galvanizing piece.

Is that a word?  it is now. Increasing my vocabulary one word at a time. Go me!

I learned what the word Galvanize means today. I heard it in a song

 

I’m going  to stop now. Well, after I state this.

 At this point in my studies, I’m concerned with dialogue, characterisation  and  just getting anything down.

When it comes to refining and redrafting and editing, I have something to work with, as opposed to a blank screen.

I’m a panster till I die. Initially, to get writing – I can’t be bothered  creating too much of a backstory with  fucking diagrams and all that stuff – I like to let it all out and then if I want or need  for (artistic/grading/publishing purposes) I will work on the piece  until I have something solid that I am happy with.

My weekend is all about studying.

What is everyone else up to?

I have kind of accepted the idea that until February next year, my social is going to be fictional and made up.

This weekend,I will catch up with as many of you as possible. If I don’t ,have an awesome weekend . Have a drink for me.  Whatever it is you do to chill ( unless it involves dying in the process)  think of me sipping my cup of charr ! PLEASE!

giphy-1

*photo credit Film Photographers, B W Film, Art, Ghosts, Francesca Woodman, P1170566 Jpg, Woodman 1958 1981, Franscesca Woodman, Favorite Photographers. https://uk.pinterest.com/pin/124904589642095833/ *

 

12 thoughts on “galvanize

  1. I wish I was a plotter, but I’m a big time panster. I think being a plotter would be easier. I also think it’d help me with writing prompts. Right now they make me feel restricted and near impossible to do. I probably should try them more often.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

