If you didn’t know…..


Morning Bloggers!

It’s been a stressful year, survived – again! I received my results for my first TMA for my MA .  I’m currently going through my options and rights as a student with the institution I am studying with. I can’t really go into  all the details it at this point.  I have received an unofficial  apology and have been advised to take it further.

I will say: I won’t be bullied by anybody.

giphy

The themes I write about are close to my heart. I will fight for an  official apology , I’m not so sure about asking for it to be remarked-although other people who have read my work and, understand stage and theater  and the issues I raise say I should demand a remark.

 For me, it’s more about the principle. The people in my life who know the full story of what has happened (especially those who  have seen the comments) which don’t focus on  the academic side of my writing (and who work in the mental health and vulnerable  sector in my community)  are furious on my behalf and are  horrified by the ignorance displayed the person who marked my paper.

I have all the evidence and support to take it further, I just need to make a decision.

I will keep you updated on the outcome.

So, on a more positive note I have been nominated for the SUNSHINE BLOGGER AWARD by Megan Elizabeth Creative Imaginations card-flowers-daisies-thank-you-card-flower-chamomile-thank-you check out her random facts page. She’s based in Chicago!

THE RULES

  • Thank whoever nominees your blog – Me in this case! 

  • Indulge yourself and answer any questions you feel happy to answer

  • Spread  that radiance to some other awesome blogs to keep the light shining brightly.

  • Use these questions or make up your own to ask your nominees

  • Tell your nominees that they have been nominated. 

  • Put your preferred logo award on display . I chose this one. 

sunshine-blogger.png

Q&A TIME

Which decade do you miss the most?

I don’t miss it because I wasn’t alive at the time. I do feel drawn to the twenties. I love jazz, I love the bohemian artsy fartsy-ness of that time, politics, and art movement that brought so many creative and eccentric and bloody brilliant  minds together. I hate war but I love the culture  that grew from such an inauspicious  time.

Yes, I love the decadence- ignorance is bliss -for a brief moment. I love the lingo, the dancing, the style, I love all of it. The struggles during the war which is a stark contrast to the early 20’s.

I also have always loved Rap/hip hop. I had to know every word of Snoop Dogs lyrics. I do think he promoted his brand in a  sexist  manner but I love his smooth, humorous and effortless way of rapping that doesn’t come across like he wants to start a war. It was about the Fedora hats and Pimps – it wasn’t meant to be taken too seriously but everyone has their own interpretation of the music and the culture that grows from a genre of music.

 I do wish I had been around when disco and hip-hop emerged in the late 1970’s and 80’s. I  love Grandmaster Flash, Mr. Hollywood etc..

 I appreciate how  important music is in forming a culture and how it can divide and bring people and communities together.

 I was a rave bunny, a mosher , a skater girl, a raggamuffin.

I love all music.

I love writing.

I love poetry.

I was a part of the E  generation of the nineties. Alcohol wasn’t a popular drug to get high on and I saw a lot less fighting and a lot of different sub -cultures come together and accept each other for their differences.

To which poet do you feel most connected to?

Charles Bukowski and Sylvia Plath -(didn’t think much of her novel ‘Bell jar’ ) I do love her poetry.

Your spirit cartoon character/TV show artist?

Erm… My latest love is ‘Reign’ – just finished binge watching all three seasons and I love the politics and the scandal of that era  and I love to see queens kicking butt. Queen Mary of Scots, Queen Elizabeth Ist rock!

How has your blog helped you the most?

I get to write and people read my posts and get me! What more can I ask for?

I ‘ve made some awesome connections through blogging – It is a great way for me to express myself in any way I wish.  This blog and the people who support me have seen me through some crazy and turbulent times.

I nominate  -(I know some of these are award free blogs but I feel you have been a great support and ray of sunlight in times of need, whether you know it or not)

 

I think I will stop there

THANK YOU FOR BEING MY BALL OF SUNSHINE !

SUNSHINE WILL FOLLOW THE RAIN 

Nora bayes 

 

48 thoughts on “If you didn’t know…..

  1. Pingback: Hey, Miss Daisy – BrewNSpew
  2. Pingback: Hey, Miss Daisy – BrewNSpew
  3. Pingback: Shout Out! 💜 – Sweta Ojha
  4. Hi Daisy, Thank you so much for your nomination, I would love to accept . I am behind on my awards but intend to step into 2017 with my awards on my blog ! So I promise January.
    Sorry to hear about your MA, but as you say 62 is a clear pass, (so congratulations on that score) but if you feel you should question it, go for it, maybe better to clear it up now, than later, if it is making you unhappy, let me know how it goes, have a great weekend xxx And thanks again, I really appreciate it ………..

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Daisy for nominating me Daisy. I feel your pain regarding the results. I would advice you follow your mind. Do what you know is best. Life comes with lots of ups and downs. Have a happy weekend. 💞💕

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: SUNSHINE BLOGGER AWARD | teleportingweena
  7. Oh, do fight for your rights, Daisy! I never went past a Bachelors, and I was already almost 40 when I graduated, but always regretted not fighting against two professors who felt women over 20 should not be in university and consistently graded me down. Fortunately, I had many more professors who liked my work. Different than your fight, but the same, nevertheless. And since I don’t write poetry the way many people BELIEVE it should be written, I can understand what is happening to you. You are one of my favorite bloggers, you always show intelligence, compassion, and humor. FIGHT! XO

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Thanks for the nomination! I’ve just posted a really inspiring video which I think would really give you the confidence to fight this discrimination. I’m sorry you’re disappointed hun with your first mark 😖 I’m here if you want someone to offer advice or support or to bounce ideas on how you can come back from this.😘😘😘 Love you xxx 😘

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

